That Year Off They Talk About

“I lived my twenties in a very public manner and if anyone’s twenties are documented it’s not always going to be pretty.” Sienna Miller

When all of my friends who were engineers graduated a month ago, they went off to cities where 60K plus jobs awaited them.  My newly attained biology degree and I headed back to my small town; The kind of place where if you’re single, you don’t use Eharmony, you go to FarmersOnly.com.  My source of income in this past month has come from working farmers markets during the day and bartending nights at the local dive bar which appropriately has deer mounts hanging on all of the walls and a great selection of Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, and Alabama on the jukebox.

But it was okay, because this is that year off they talk about right?

In a brief stunt of motivation on my part, and as a plan B to not getting into a dental school my first year out of college, I signed up for a dental assisting program beginning August 6th. This provided me both with a plan of action in my life, and a reason to move out of my house, a necessity if I was going to to stay sane.

I found a living arrangement … with two guys.  Both are young assistant football coaches at a local college by my technical school; One I have been friends with for years.  After reading a few “expert” opinions  such as this one, I decided to say “what the hell” and go for it.  It was a risky decision made mostly on the basis of my strong feelings about avoiding a boring adult life.

After some casual “stalking” of the third roommate on Facebook, I would not be surprised if someone told me he barely missed getting cast on Jersey Shore.  There may be some GTL bonding between us in the near future.  I also suspect due to recent pictures, that while he is 25 years old, he is still a party-driven teenager.  On a minor note, he is a yankees fan … not okay. (Phillies all the way!)

Now begins the countdown of 1 month and 6 days before I get out of this small town. Oh and I guess finding an apartment would be a good start.

But it’s okay, because that should be easy right?

Peace.

Standard

Leave a Reply

